Hide your Tracks

How to delete your Internet history using the following website browsers

Internet Explorer – step by step 

Delete Internet Explorer 7 Browsing History

Open Internet Explorer 7 and follow these steps:

  1. Click on the Tools menu, located at the far right-hand side of your browser's Tab Bar.
  2. When the drop-down menu appears, choose the Delete Browsing History... option to open the Delete Browsing History window. You'll be given multiple options.
  3. Click Delete all... to remove everything listed or choose the delete button next to any of the sections you want to remove. Below is an explanation of those settings.

Temporary internet files: The first section in this window deals with temporary internet files. Internet Explorer stores images, multimedia files, and even full copies of websites that you have visited in an effort to reduce load time on your next visit to that same page. To remove all of these temporary files from your hard drive, click the button labeled Delete files....

Cookies: When you visit certain websites, a text file is placed on your hard drive that is used by the site to store user-specific settings and other information. This cookie is utilized by the respective site each time you return in order to provide a customized experience or to retrieve your login credentials. To remove all Internet Explorer cookies from your hard drive, click Delete cookies....

Browsing history: The third section in the Delete Browsing History window deals with history. Internet Explorer records and stores a list of all websites that you visit. To remove this list of sites, click Delete history....

Form data: The next part pertains to form data, which is information that you've entered into forms. For example, you may have noticed when filling out your name in a form that after typing the first letter or two, your entire name populates in the field. This is because IE stored your name from an entry in a previous form. Although this can be very convenient, it can also become an obvious privacy issue. Remove this information with the Delete forms... button.

Passwords: The fifth and final section is where you can delete saved passwords. When entering a password on a website, like your email login, Internet Explorer will usually ask if you want it to remember the password for the next time you're logging in. To remove these saved passwords from IE7, click Delete passwords....

How to Delete Everything at Once

At the bottom of the Delete Browsing History window is a Delete all... button. Use this to remove everything mentioned above.

Located directly under this question is an optional checkbox called Also delete files and settings stored by add-ons. Some browser add-ons and plug-ins might store similar information like Internet Explorer does, like form data and passwords. Use this button to remove that information from your computer.

Chrome – step by step 

See your history

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More.
  3. Click History History.

Clear your history

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More .
  3. Click History History.
  4. On the left, click Clear browsing data. A box will appear.
  5. From the drop-down menu, select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, select All time.
  6. Check the boxes for the info you want Chrome to clear, including “browsing history."
  7. Click Clear browsing data.

Delete an item from your history :

You can delete certain parts of your history. To search for something specific, use the search bar at the top.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More .
  3. Click History History.
  4. Check the box next to each item that you want to remove from your History.
  5. At the top right, click Delete.
  6. Confirm by clicking Remove.

Remove an image from New Tab page :

To see the sites you visit most, open a new tab. To remove an image, point to it and click Remove

What your history page shows :

Your History page shows the webpages you've visited on Chrome in the last 90 days. It doesn’t store Chrome pages you’ve visited like chrome://settings, pages you've visited in Incognito mode, or pages you've already deleted from your browsing history.

If you're signed in to Chrome and syncing your history, then your History page shows webpages you’ve visited across all your synced devices for much longer.

 

Browse privately :

 

If you don’t want Chrome to save your browsing history at all, you can browse in private with Incognito mode.

Using a Chromebook at work or school? Your network administrator can turn off browsing history. If history is off, your History page won't list webpages you've visited.